10 Republicans vote to impeach Trump in historic break from party – CNET


President Donald Trump was impeached for a second time in little over a year in the House Chamber of the U.S. Capitol January 13, 2021 in Washington, DC.

Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

The House of Representatives voted with bipartisan support Wednesday to impeach Donald Trump for the second time during his presidency charging him with “high crimes and misdemeanors” for his role in inciting the violent mob that stormed the Capitol last week resulting in the deaths of five people. 

The single article of impeachment accused Trump with “incitement of insurrection” for his role in the deadly riot at the US Capitol last week. The vote passed 232 to 197 in favor of impeachment. Five members did not vote. 

After a daylong debate lawmakers voted largely along party lines in favor of impeachment, but 10 Republicans broke with their party to vote in favor of impeachment. 

Here is the list of Republicans who voted to impeach Trump:

  1. Rep. Liz Cheney R-WY

  2. Rep. John Katko R-N.Y.

  3. Rep. Fred Upton R-Mich.

  4. Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash. 

  5. Rep. Adam Kinzinger, R-Ill. 

  6. Rep. Dan Newhouse R-Wash.

  7. Rep. Peter Meijer R-Mich.

  8. Rep. Tom Rice R-SC

  9. Rep. Anthony Gonzelez R-OH

  10. Rep. Valadoa R-Calif.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *