Golden Globes 2021 livestream: Start time, nominations, how to watch – CNET

tqg-104-unit-00367rc

The Queen’s Gambit is a favorite for best limited series.


Netflix

After navigating a few logistical challenges, the Golden Globes will kick off this year’s awards season on Sunday (Feb. 28). Despite a few glaring snubs (I May Destroy You), there are plenty of big shows and performances to root for. The Queen’s Gambit could see Anya Taylor-Joy complete her star transformation with a win for best actress (limited series), and Rosamund Pike could score in the best actress (comedy or musical) category with her memorable performance as Marla Grayson in I Care a Lot.

Keen to tune in? Here’s everything you need to know to watch the 2021 Golden Globes.

Date and start time

US: Sunday, Feb. 28 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET

Australia: Monday, March 1 at noon AEDT

UK: Monday, March 1 at 1 a.m. GMT

Who’s hosting?

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. This will be the fourth time they’ve hosted together — though they won’t actually be in the same room. Like most awards shows nowadays, the Globes will be a virtual show. While Poehler will host from The Beverly Hilton, where the Globes are usually held, Fey will be set up in The Rainbow Room inside NBC’s corporate headquarters at 30 Rock. Let’s hope there are no lag issues.

How to watch or livestream

The virtual ceremony will be broadcast live from The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California, on NBC. Here are a few ways you can watch NBC — and of course, seven-day free trials are your friend.

YouTube TV costs $65 per month and includes NBC. Plug in your ZIP code on its channel lineup page to see what live, local networks are available where you live.

Other ways to watch NBC include signing up to Sling TV ($30 per month — for much fewer other channels) or Fubo TV ($60 per month).

AustraliaFoxtel‘s Fox8 is likely to broadcast the ceremony as it has done in previous years.

UK: Unfortunately, no British channel airs the show. But if you enjoy the red carpet, it’ll likely be streamed on the Golden Globes Facebook page. The winners will also be quickly announced via Twitter, so that might be your best bet.

Nominations

The nominees were announced on Feb. 3 by Sarah Jessica Parker and Taraji P. Henson on NBC’s Today show. Check out the full list here.

Who are the favorites to win?

Chloé Zhao’s lauded Nomadland is the big shout for best picture (drama). It’s a tight best actress race between Viola Davis and Frances McDormand, but best actor should see an apt posthumous win for Chadwick Boseman. You can find our full winners predictions here.

Will there be a red carpet?

The Emmys did an at-home version of the red carpet last year, so maybe we’ll see the same committed and tongue-in-cheek celebrity looks at a Globes at-home version. A hybrid of in-person appearances at The Beverly Hilton and at-home livestreams is also a possibility.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *