How to watch Indy 500 today: Where to find it without cable, start time, starting grid, and more – CNET

Today’s the day! The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 will take place today at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. If watching htis high-octane race is your idea of the perfect way to spend a Sunday, you are not alone and we have all the information you need to watch. 

Scott Dixon captured the pole position in qualifying with an average speed of 231.685 miles per hour. That is, as they say in racing circles, fast. Joining Dixon in the first row is Colton Herta and Rinus VeeKay. Have a favorite racer? Check out the starting grid for the 33-car field

The Indy 500 starts today, Sunday, May 30, at 9:45 a.m. PT (12:45 p.m. ET) on NBC. Here’s how you can watch all the open-wheeled action on race day.

Indy 500

The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place Sunday on NBC.


Patrick Smith/Getty Images

How to watch the Indy 500 without cable

Pre-race coverage starts at 6 a.m. PT (9 a.m. ET) on NBCSN before giving way to NBC at 8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET). Post-race coverage starts at 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. ET) on NBCSN. If you don’t have a cable or satellite TV subscription, you can watch the race with a live-TV service. The good news is that NBC and NBCSN are available on each streaming service. The catch is that not every service carries every local network, so check each one using the links below to make sure it carries NBC in your area.

If you live in an area with good reception, you can watch the Indy 500 on NBC for free just by attaching an affordable (under $30) indoor antenna to nearly any TV.

Hulu with Live TV costs $65 a month and includes NBC in most markets and NBCSN. Click the “View channels in your area” link on its welcome page to see which local channels are offered in your ZIP code.

Read our Hulu with Live TV review.

 

YouTube TV costs $65 a month and includes NBC in most markets and NBCSN. Plug in your ZIP code on its welcome page to see which local networks are available in your area.

Read our YouTube TV review.

 

All of the live TV streaming services above offer free trials, allow you to cancel anytime and require a solid internet connection. Looking for more information? Check out our live-TV streaming services guide.

More home entertainment recommendations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *