Emmys 2021 live updates: Standout red carpet looks before the awards – CNET


Will The Crown win best drama series?


The 73rd Primetime Emmys Awards ceremony is underway, with jokes, speeches and musical numbers already coming thick and fast. Host Cedric the Entertainer understood the brief!

Nominations are led by some of the smash-hit shows of the past year, such as Ted LassoWandaVision, The Queen’s Gambit, The Crown and Mare of Easttown. On the acting side of things, Kate Winslet, Elizabeth Olsen, Michaela Coel, Paapa Essiedu, Jason Sudeikis and more magnificent performers are up for awards. Wow, competition is tough this year.

The awards ceremony starts at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET. Be sure to follow along here for all the winners as they’re announced.

Read more: Emmy nominees 2021: The full list of categories | Emmys 2021: How to watch online

Best Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Evan Peters just won his first ever Emmy!

  • Daveed Diggs, Hamilton
  • Jonathan Groff, Hamilton
  • Anthony Ramos, Hamilton
  • Thomas Brodie-Sangster, The Queen’s Gambit
  • Evan Peters, Mare of Easttown — WINNER
  • Paapa Essiedu, I May Destroy You

Best Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Mare of Easttown gets its first win. Represent Julianne Nicholson!

  • Jean Smart, Mare of Easttown
  • Julianne Nicholson, Mare of Easttown — WINNER
  • Kathryn Hahn, WandaVision
  • Phillipa Soo, Hamilton
  • Renee Elise Goldsberry, Hamilton
  • Moses Ingram, The Queen’s Gambit

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Not another one — Ted Lasso has taken its second win of the night for Brett Goldstein! Get in!

  • Carl Clemons-Hopkins, Hacks
  • Brett Goldstein, Ted Lasso — WINNER
  • Brendan Hunt, Ted Lasso
  • Nick Mohammed, Ted Lasso
  • Paul Reiser, The Kominsky Method
  • Jeremy Swift, Ted Lasso
  • Kenan Thompson, Saturday Night Live
  • Bowen Yang, Saturday Night Live

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Seth Rogen kicks off the awards with the first of the night. And best comedy supporting actress goes to… only Hannah Waddingham from Ted Lesso! Goooaaaalll!

  • Rosie Perez, The Flight Attendant
  • Hannah Einbinder, Hacks
  • Aidy Bryant, Saturday Night Live
  • Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live
  • Cecily Strong, Saturday Night Live
  • Juno Temple, Ted Lasso
  • Hannah Waddingham, Ted Lasso — WINNER

The red carpet

The red carpet has just about wrapped up and the limited attendees are heading inside Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles for the start of the show. This year’s host is Cedric the Entertainer. Entertain us Cedric!

And they’re here. Kate Winslet. Kate Winslet and Elizabeth Olsen. They’re both vying for that super competitive best actress in a limited series award. Who’s your pick?

Kaley Cuoco can’t be missed, lighting up the red carpet in dazzling yellow. She’s nominated for best comedy actress!

She’s here. Katheryn Hahn. The moment. Agatha Harkness herself. Will she win best supporting actress in a limited series for WandaVision?

O-T Fagbenle, Cecily Strong, Amber Ruffin and Ken Jeong have entered the house.

Here are some of the early arrivals, including best actor in a drama nominee Josh O’Connor, repping The Crown.

You can follow the red carpet with the Television Academy here, or stick to these highlights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *