Nintendo Direct is live: How to watch now and what to expect – CNET

n4bni4zde6jtpembutx5zubmad2zkwdk

Wednesday’s Nintendo Direct 


Nintendo

The last six months have been usually quiet for Nintendo. Its big holiday releases were Super Mario 3D All-Stars, a collection of three remastered games, and Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity, a Zelda spin-off. Will the next six months be different? We’re about to find out.

Nintendo Direct, a presentation at which the Japanese gaming giant will announce what games you’ll be playing on your Switch “in the first half of 2021,” is live right now.

How to Watch

This one is simple: Right here!

If YouTube isn’t your thing, you can also watch Nintendo Direct on Nintendo’s Twitch or its website.   

What to expect

Nintendo says we’ll be seeing news on Super Smash Bros. Ultimate — likely the next character reveal — plus we’re likely to get a good look at New Pokemon Snap, which is slated for an April 30 release. We could also see retro Star Wars game Republic Commando coming to Switch. But it’s a 50-minute presentation, longer than last July’s Nintendo Direct Mini, so we’re expecting at least one juicy reveal.

It’s possible that we’ll get more DLC for Pokemon Sword and Shield, as the second of the two previously announced expansion packs was released last October. And with the past few Mario releases being remasters — 3D All-Stars and, earlier this month, the Wii U’s 3D World — our favorite plumber is due for a new adventure. Plus of course, there’s always the possibility that we’ll see more Breath of the Wild 2 or even Metroid Prime 4.

There’s a chance that the “one more thing” announcement may not be a game at all. The rumor mill has for many months circulated whispers of a new, 4K-capable Nintendo Switch. Not Switch Lite, but Switch Heavy. (It will absolutely not be called that.) 

Start Times

Nintendo Direct starts at 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Feb. 17. If you’re in the UK, you’ll have to wait up until 10 p.m. GMT Wednesday. For Australians, Nintendo Direct takes place on Thursday, Feb. 18, at 9 a.m. AEST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *